Welcome to the Non-Obvious Book Awards

Winners Just Announced!

Every year our team, led by WSJ Best Selling Author Rohit Bhargava spends the entire year gathering stories and insights, interviewing thought leaders and attending events to learn about new ideas and curate them into our annually published trend book called Non-Obvious. After several years of collecting and reading, we finally decided to share some of our favorite books by producing an annual “best of the year” list.

Read the Full Announcement >>

The Non-Obvious Book Awards Shortlist:

The Non-Obvious Book Award Winners:

The Non-Obvious Book Awards Longlist:

The Non-Obvious Book Awards Honorable Mentions:

What Makes These Awards Different?

Unlike other industry awards programs, we don’t segment books by industry or topic category. Instead we pick winners by five themes – importance, originality, readability, usefulness, and shareability. You can learn more about our criteria by visiting our how to enter page.

There is no application fee to enter and our selections are completely impartial and curated by our team without outside influence. The submissions for the 2019 season are now closed.  To be considered for our 2020 Awards program, books must be published between December 2019 and December 2020. Deadline for all entries to be received for the 2020 Non-Obvious Book Awards will be November 15, 2020.